FIRST P-DAY

So our zone has P-days on Saturday! Which is pretty great, let me tell you. I´ll mostly go through and tell highlights from this week, which has felt like a month! The first night we were here we went in as groups and taught some investigators. There were about 30 elders and hermanas in the room, and as a group we taught three different investigators. We taught Alex, Jose, and George. It was good to learn how to teach. At first those who were commenting were just dumping doctrine on the investigator, which was very confusing for them, needless to say. But by the end we started teaching by the spirit, and it was amazing to see the difference! The spirit in the room was so much stronger by the end, when we were teaching by the spirit, than the beginning when we weren’t. The one investigator whose situation hit me really hard was George. His son had died at age 14 from cancer, and because he was baptist he believed that his son was going to hell. He had had depression for years, and by the end of the time he finally revealed that he thought his son had died as punishment from God for his (George´s) sins. It made me so sad to see how much this tormented him, knowing that the gospel could relieve that guilt and that pain. It was really hard for me when they said “Time’s up”. We have spent a lot of time in classes and doing personal, companion, and language study. It’s hard to spend so much time sitting, but it’s amazing to see how much we are learning. People who didn’t speak any Spanish coming in taught a LESSON last night. Which brings me to the other highlight. We taught last night as companionships! Our second day! In SPANISH! Crazy crazy huh? (Mom you’re probably thinking, no, not really) The person we taught is named Adrian. He was orphaned at 3, doesn’t know his birth parents at all, and was adopted by a family in Arizona at age 4. He was such a great first investigator. He was very friendly and forgave our shortcomings in Spanish. He had already met with the missionaries before, and already had a Book of Mormon. We were able to teach him more about Heavenly Father, prayer, the Spirit, and the Book of Mormon. We challenged him to read and pray about Moroni 10. We also read Moroni 10:3-5 with him. It was really hard for me because I wanted to say so much more than I knew Spanish for, but when I listened to what the Spirit wanted me to say it helped so much more. This morning our zone (el mejor zone) went to the temple for the 7:40 session. The elders and hermanas in our zone are so great and friendly. One of the hermanas even went to high school with me! (Hermana Cassie Jenkins) She is going to Argentina Buenos Aires South.

My companions are great! I’m in a trio with Hermana Story and Hermana Durfee. Hermana Durfee reminds me a lot of Elise Francis. It’s been hard getting used to having someone around all the time, but I’m so glad that I’m where I’m at. Also in our same residence hall we have Hermana Urbanawiz and Hermana Gull. They are also both very sweet. I’m actually on West Campus instead of Main, they send all the Spanish speaking missionaries over here, which is way cool because we are all learning the same language. We all greet each other with “Hola”. This week (I can’t remember which day now, they all blur together) we learned how to testify. So I will bear my (short) testimony in closing.
Yo se que Jesucristo es el Redentor. Yo se que Jesucristo es el Salvador. Yo se que El Libro de Mormon es verdadero. Yo se que familias son eternas. Yo se que Jose Smith es un profeta. Yo se que Presidente Monson es un profeta. Este testimonio me ayudar a vivir feliz. En el nombre de Jesucristo Amen.
Love,
Hermana Kate Rasmuson
P.S. Questions would be much appreciated!
IMG_0319.JPG
My bed – top bunk y’all
IMG_0318.JPG
my companionsIMG_0317.JPGIMG_0320.JPG
the name tag
Leave a Reply

