Argentina

This letter will have to be short because I don´t have the full hour today. Sorry!

This week was really great. It’s been a lot of work but it’s good work.
 I have been completely exhausted every night as I lay down to go to sleep and honestly that´s the best feeling in the world. I love it here in Argentina! The members in our ward are so great, and we have been able to teach some people who are amazing! One is named Rogelio. He is 34 and has two kids. He smoked and drank. We had the Word of Wisdom lesson this week and the minute we said that we didn´t smoke he jumped up, took his pack of cigarettes and crushed them! Since then he has only smoked one cigarette and he used to smoke a whole pack every day. He has completely stopped drinking and he has a vision for his baptism. He was able to come see the baptism of our other investigator Pablo and he is so excited to be baptized. He brought his kids to watch conference with us Sunday.
I am loving it here and understanding and speaking more and more Castellano every day. I had an experience the other day I´d like to share. It was 8 pm and I was 100% exhausted. All I wanted was to go home and be done with the day. But we still had an hour to go. We both had the impression that we should go to see Rogelio. We were walking there and I was so tired. I was feeling discouraged and disanimated. I said a prayer in my heart as we were walking:
Father in Heaven, I´ve given my all today and I just can´t give any more. Please help me to have the strength and energy I need to finish out this day strong.
That moment I felt a new energy come into me and I was able to feel excited and animated while we talked to Rogelio. It truly was a tender mercy.
We also have Jorge who helps us A TON. He goes out with us at least once a week every week. We also have gotten to know another less active sister named Hermana Scarpfa. She has such a strong testimony and is willing to do all she can to help us. Tonight we are going to have a noche de hogar with her.
Conference was great! Saturday morning we were able to watch it with Hermana Scarpfa and we turned on english subtitles so I could understand. She fed us a huge lunch and we were able to talk to her more and get to know her more. Saturday evening we watched it with a family who was recently baptized. About halfway through one of our investigators came and after the session we were able to give her the first lesson and talk about the LdM. Again, I got my english subtitles.
Sunday we went to a church in Moron. The first session we were supposed to have an investigator coming, but when we called he was asleep :/ It was all in Spanish and I hardly understood anything. At the beginning of the session I was really frustrated that I was going to watch conference and not be able to understand. I was feeling bad but then the first talk started and despite the fact that I only understood a sentence or two I had such a strong feeling of peace and comfort come over me that I didn´t feel frustrated any more. There is SUCH a strong spirit in the conferences, and I don´t think I ever really realized how strong it is.
The Sunday afternoon session we were able to have Rogelio come. I met his kids for the first time and they are great! So great! Rogelio is awesome and I am SO excited to see him be baptized. He was truly prepared.
I love you all!!!
Hermana Rasmusonç
Our apartment is really basic, and from what I´ve heard one of the nicer ones. Gas stove and oven, bathroom, bedroom. I don´t really know how to describe it. Pretty normal.
We eat lunch with members every day but Pday, but a lot of times instead of eating in their homes they just hand us a bag of food at the door. It´s sad because I would really like to get to know them more.
They have big supermarkets here, little grocery stores, and little fruit/vegetable stores. Everything is inside.
Leave a Reply

